Help Center

Merge multiple GitHub repositories to make multi-repo Workspaces

Software projects often span across several GitHub repositories, so naturally, your Workspace tracker and reports should too.


Using ZenHub, you can connect repositories together—even across GitHub organizations—to get a bird's eye view into everything going on with your software projects. 


Creating multi-repo Workspaces

To merge multiple repositories together, get started using the Repos dropdown on the top left of any ZenHub Board.


To merge repositories together, you need to have write permissions to all repositories in GitHub you'd like to merge.


Using the Add a repo + option, search for the repository that you'd like to connect. Using the avatar on the bottom left of the modal, you can toggle across all Organizations and personal repositories that you have access to. If the repository you'd like to add is in another one of your GitHub organizations, you can connect this using the custom link on the bottom left, where the avatar for your organization is located.



After confirming the repository you'd like to connect, define the ideal workflow for all connect repositories. You'll be presented with a preview screen where you can drag and drop pipelines to determine how they will be merged. When merging repositories together, the pipelines across all repositories become one, within a new Workspace.


Here's an example: In one of your repositories you have QA and in the second repository, you call the same stage in your workflow as Review. Though their names are different, they serve the same purpose, so you'll want to merge them together into one pipeline. When these pipelines are merged, the QA pipeline's Issues will appear in the Review pipeline.


When you have finished organizing your pipeline stages, click Merge to finish.



Important! Before merging Boards together, have a discussion with your team.


Post merge, the pipelines become the same across both repositories, creating a single unified Workspace after merging. While you can disconnect a repository from the central multi-repo Workspace at any time, the prioritization of all Issues inside the Board will be lost once disconnected. Make sure your team is onboard with the merge beforehand.


Personalize your Workspace


Naming multi-repo Workspaces

Once a multi-repo Workspace has been created, you can give it a name. Any un-named multi-repo Workspace will have an Untitled tag next to it. 



Giving a collection of merged repos a name helps it become searchable, recognizable, and personalized to your team. Once named, the Workspace can also become a favorite in your sidebar navigation.



Learn more about Workspaces here.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.