Important not about setting the default pipeline for the destination of new PRs/connected Issues
GitHub has recently launched draft pull request states, which in turn has modified the UI for ZenHub's Default pipeline (the setting for choosing the destination pipeline of new PRs). In turn, this button is not currently available in the UI. The ZenHub team is working on a high priority bug fix!
Setup Default pipelines for Pull Requests
Automate your workflow by first assigning a default pipeline for submitted Pull Requests when you're creating the PR. This workflow is great to automate small tasks and save time keeping your tasks up-to-date without having to worry about spending time after your work is done.
Connect an Issue to a GitHub Pull Request
Whether the Pull Request is open or merged, you're able to connect an Issue to it. To get started, use the Connect with an Issue button below the conflicts confirmation section. You'll be able to connect to any Issue that lives in your ZenHub Workspace, including those that are cross-repo (as long as the repos are merged into the same Workspace).
Once connected, an audit trail in both the Pull Request and Issue will be created to provide visability to your team. Your Issue will now also be pulled to the same pipeline as the Pull Request.
Leveraging this connection alongside the default pipeline for Pull Requests means you're able to automate task updates! The Pull Request will be nested on the Issue on the Board.
If a connected Issue is closed, don't worry – the Pull Request won't automatically merge. It'll stay where it is and will disconnect from the closed Issue. Similarly, if a PR is merged but its Issue is not closed, they will remain connected (and the PR will reflect the new merged state).
You can connect as many Pull Requests to an Issue as needed. As the Pull Request gets merged, the icon on the Board will update next to the Pull Request name, indicating it is now closed. However, only one Issue can be connected to a Pull Request.
As Issues are closed, the connection with the Pull Request will disconnect. By closing an Issue, the work completed in the Pull Request may not yet be completed. As Issues moved to the closed pipeline are updated as closed automatically, this is to ensure no Pull Request gets auto-merged without deliberate action to do so.
Closing Issues in your Workspace
Automate the closing of Issues in your Workspace by simply dragging the Issue into the Closed pipeline.
Dragging and dropping Issues into and out of the Closed pipeline will automatically open and close the Issue. You can also automate this movement by changing the pipeline to and from the Closed pipeline on the sidebar dropdown for pipelines on the Issue page.